PIKOM elects new committee line-up including a new Chairman for 2016

At the recently held 29th Annual General Meeting (AGM) end last month, the National ICT Association of Malaysia (PIKOM) announced the appointment of its new Chairman and Office Bearers as well as Councillors for 2016.

Seated L-R: Cheah Kok Hoong (Immediate Past Chairman), Ganesh Kumar Bangah (Deputy Chairman), Chin Chee Seong (Chairman), Danny Lee (Secretary), Sean Seah (Treasurer). Standing (L-R): PIKOM Councillors: Christopher Chan, Jeffrey Ooi, Stan Singh-Jit, Carol Wong, Ong Chin Seong, and Eric Wong

Chin Chee Seong of Galasys Solutions (MSC) Sdn Bhd, who was previously Deputy Chairman, was elected PIKOM Chairman, while Ganesh Kumar Bangah of HT Consulting (ASIA) Sdn Bhd was elected as Deputy Chairman. 

Danny Lee of Epson Malaysia who was previously Treasurer will now serve as Secretary with Bimbit.com’s Sean Seah completing the line-up as Treasurer. All Office Bearers were elected uncontested to their positions and will serve a term of one year.

Outgoing Chairman, Cheah Kok Hoong will continue to serve in the Council as Immediate Past Chairman.

The AGM also saw PIKOM appointing a new team of Councillors. Councillors include Stan Singh-Jit of IronHorse Asia Sdn Bhd, Carol Wong of Genovasi Malaysia Sdn Bhd, Christopher Chan of Ten Ten Telecommunications Sdn Bhd, and Dr Dzaharudin Bin Mansor of Microsoft (M) Sdn Bhd. The Councillors will serve for a period of two years up to 2017. They will be joined by Jeffrey Ooi of Celcom (Malaysia) Bhd, Eric Wong of IBM Malaysia Sdn Bhd, Ong Chin Seong of Powerware Systems Sdn Bhd, and Ivan Teh of ADV Fusionex Sdn Bhd who are serving until the next AGM in 2016.

The new Chairman said that he will look to carrying on the good work of his predecessor based on PIKOM’s six strategic thrusts while bringing fresh perspective and new ideas to complement existing initiatives and strategies.

“I am honoured to have been given the opportunity to lead PIKOM and express my sincere thanks and appreciation to my peers and all members who have given me their trust to helm the Association. I also wish to thank Mr Cheah for the strong foundation that he has left behind and we will strive to continue building on the good work achieved thus far. Certainly, we will continue playing an active role as the voice of the ICT industry. Given the dynamic, rapidly evolving economic and technological environment, there is plenty to cover and we will hit the ground running,” shared CS Chin.

Chin also mentioned that with Budget 2016 having just recently been announced, PIKOM now has clearer visibility on steering the agenda and interests of the ICT industry forward. Key to its efforts would be continued dialogue and partnership with key stakeholders including the government, industry and users.

Among new initiatives next year include the introduction of individual memberships to PIKOM that will further revitalise the organisation, it said. The new Committee is set to meet soon to outline plans and clear directions for 2016.

“The idea itself is not new having been mooted earlier. But in 2016, this will be a key area for us in strengthening PIKOM’s pool of professional talent. We also will relaunch the PIKOM Fair series of events to be known as ‘PIKOM Fair 3.0’,” said Chin.

“The role that ICT plays is for the benefit and betterment of the nation. We will continue to engage actively across the board. In doing so, we look to bring new ideas to the table but continue to push existing causes such as the call for ICT products and services to be zero rated, faster and more affordable broadband as well as continued ICT tax allowance,” he added.

List of PIKOM 2016 Office Bearers & Councillors

Position Name
Chairman Chin Chee Seong
Deputy Chairman Ganesh Kumar Bangah
Secretary Danny Lee
Treasurer Sean Seah
Immediate Past Chairman Cheah Kok Hoong
Councillor Dr. Dzaharudin Mansor
Councillor Stan Singh – Jit
Councillor Christopher Chan
Councillor Carol Wong
Councillor Jeffrey Ooi
Councillor Eric Wong
Councillor Ong Chin Seong
Councillor Ivan Teh

Have a comment? Type it below!