With Android Q, Google is specializing in privateness and battery optimizations. The new OS model makes location permissions extra granular and permits us to grant them solely when apps are in use. Contrary to this new-found privateness focus, a bug within the newest beta switches all apps that you’ve got beforehand granted location entry “only while in use” to “allowed all the time.” Luckily, the beta additionally addresses this challenge by sending you a notification at any time when an app asks on your location within the background.

Cassidy James first seen the new notification characteristic and posted about it on Twitter, questioning how Instagram acquired the permission within the first place. In the next thread, one other individual famous that updating to Beta 5 grants full location entry to all apps that beforehand had “only while in use” enabled. We can actually verify that that is the case for lots of apps, though notably, Google’s personal apps remained within the right class — so that you would possibly need to confirm your location permissions if you happen to’ve up to date to this construct.

Thus, the new background location alert already works as meant. If you have not seen that an app will get location within the background, you may act shortly after receiving the notification and do not find yourself questioning the place all of your battery life went. And as to inadvertently granting some apps full location entry, nicely, it is a beta, in spite of everything.