Google announced that the Google Maps Incognito mode is now available on iPhone as well after previously releasing this feature exclusively to Android devices.
Incognito was specifically implemented in Google Maps to offer increased privacy, so the application doesn’t save browsing or searching history in the account, doesn’t update the location history or shared location, and doesn’t offer personalization options based on activity data.
“Incognito mode on iOS works the same way it does on Android. While in Incognito mode, the places you search for or navigate to won’t be saved to your Google Account and you won’t see personalized features within Maps, like restaurant recommendations based on dining spots you’ve been to previously. Using Incognito mode on your phone will not update your Location History, so the places you go won’t be saved to your Timeline,” Google explains.
Enabling the Incognito mode in Google Maps on an iPhone works exactly the same way as on Android. Users need to click the profile picture within the app and then “Turn on Incognito mode.”
Also today, Google announced support for bulk delete in Timeline, which technically makes it possible to remove multiple entries at once from your Timeline and Location History.
Now that the Incognito mode is available on both Android and iOS, the next milestone for Google is to bring it to Android Auto as well. Google Maps is the preferred navigation apps for drivers who rely on Android from getting from point A to point B, so the addition of Incognito mode, along with the all the benefits that includes, would allow it to better adapt to the needs of more people.
To try out Incognito mode on both Android and iOS, make sure that you update to the latest version of Google Maps on either platform.